Citizen Journalism Ireland: No dignity afforded to Mental Health patients in Dublin 4. Emails to politicians, charities, et al by Michelle Clarke

canisgallicus

Subject: Inadequate coverage by mental health/vulnerable people
Date: Fri, 8 Jan 2010 18:10:55 -0000
From: Michelle Clarke
To: Gillian Markey <gmarkey@hrb.ie>, joan.burton@oireachtas.ie, JMoran@amnesty.ie, Doherty, Colin (Neurology Consultant) <CPDoherty@STJAMES.IE>, Nigel Dodds <ndodds@dup-belfast.co.uk>, Health & Safety Authority <newsletter@hsa.ie>, ASenkara@amnesty.ie
CC: Hugh Kane <hugh.kane@mhcirl.ie>, Martina Dumpleton <martina.dumpleton@barnardos.ie>, Dara Duffy <Dara.Duffy@rehab.ie>, John Doyle <johndoyle@disability-federation.ie>

Friday 8th January 2010

Dublin 4 and Human Dignity

KT:
A few days ago I tried to help a homeless man.  I walked him up the steps of Baggot Street Hospital.  I did not ask, I actually pleaded with members of various staff – was it possible to give this human being a bath.  His clothes were drenched in urine and the smell was very bad.  At one time, this man had a life, a former civil servant.  The response from Baggot Street Hospital was not unexpected – not in the…

View original post 3,933 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s